Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae (Score)

Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae (Score)
Notenbuch Arne Nordheim Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Tenebrae (1982), a single-movement cello concerto, commissioned and premiered by Rostropovich who praised the composer for his fine understanding and command of the rich timbre of the instrument. It is a convincing and almost nightmarish work containing music which leaves a tremendous impact on the listener. Not least in the central section where ghastly and terrifying apparitions are invoked out of the darkness. The final poetical section of the work is directly inspired by the description of the closing movement of Leverkühn’s Cantata in Thomas Mann’s Doktor Faustus.
VLC, ORCH, Cello, Orchester Englisch
Weitere Informationen: Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae (Score)

Schreibe einen Kommentar